Dark Eden by Chris Breckett

DARK_EDEN

Picture borrowed from Chris Beckett’s site

I received a copy of this book from Goodreads Firstreads in return for an honest review and I am so excited to share with everyone what I think!!

In my opinion this book is for MATURE AUDIENCES

The Story

Dark Eden by Chris Breckett is essentially a retelling of the story of the Biblical Adam and Eve. Long ago two people, Tommy and Angela, and three companions are traveling through the stars when they are, I believe, sucked into a black hole. They land on a planet that they call Dark Eden. While the other three companions leave to go back to Earth, I think for help possibly, they leave Tommy and Angela on Dark Eden. They essentially repopulate the area and create a land of what seems like prehistoric beings. The planet that they call Dark Eden is just like it sounds- it is a planet that holds no sign of intelligent life and is very dark. The only light they have is light that comes from plants, trees, animals, and fires they create.

My Thoughts

I really liked this book. It was a little slow at first, but it was all necessary in order to understand what was going on in the story. However, once I hit about the half way mark I could not put it down! I imagine that what these people were experiencing was very similar to what it may have been like during our planet’s prehistoric time in the first civilizations. There are so many questions that I have that will most likely be answered in the next book.

I loved this book, however, I only gave it a 4 out of 5 stars. The only reason it did not get that last star from me is because I felt like the first half of the book was a little slow paced for me personally. In any case, the next book, Mother of Eden, is my most anticipated for the remainder of 2014.

YOU CAN PURCHASE YOUR COPY AT THESE LOCATIONS:

Amazon

For more of Chris Beckett’s writings you can visit http://www.chris-beckett.com/

Leave a Reply

