The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon

I loved The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon.

The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon is a fairy tale retelling of Rapunzel and Snow White.

The Story

When she was young Rapunzel was taken into the forest where she would be considered safe from her abusive parents. She grows up as a beautiful young woman and essentially an apprentice to the woman who saved her from her life, Mathena. Together Mathena and Rapunzel practice healing on those who come to them from the kingdom for help. Generally these women are hurt and love sick and seek out the help of Mathena in order to cure their ales which is done through the use of herbs. Of course, during this time period, this would have been considered witch craft, and therefore, their healings had to be referred to as such and kept secret from those in the kingdom.

Despite the fact that Rapunzel is quite happy living in the forest with Mathena, she still wonders what it would be like to visit the kingdom. The young prince shows up at their home one day and invites them both to the ball. However, Mathena is not allowed inside the kingdom and she forbids Rapunzel to go. Rapunzel, however, has other plans and she plans on leaving without Mathena knowing- at least until Mathena locks her in the tower so that she cannot escape.

The prince then returns, climbs Rapunzel’s hair and promises to come back for her. He does not come back for some time, and for good reason, but once he does we are thrown into a roller coaster ride of what we thought we knew.

My Thoughts

I loved The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon so much. I thought it was a really interesting twist to the story of Rapunzel and Snow White. I felt really bad for Rapunzel on many instances and I found myself really able to connect with her. In the story something very tragic happens that I too have experienced, and I broke into tears. This book made me feel things that I had not felt in years, and I felt as if I could really relate to how Rapunzel might have felt.

Furthermore, the secrets in this book were insane! Everything you thought you knew about the story of Rapunzel and Snow White, forget about it. We are thrown into this world and into these characters lives and yet we have no idea who they really are. It was so exciting to see how I thought I knew something only to find out I was completely wrong.

If you like fairy tale retellings and messy romances you will love this book! I highly recommend it and I hope you read it. If you have read it please tell me your thoughts, if you have not read it let me know if you plan to read it. I would love to hear your thoughts!!

PURCHASE YOUR COPY AT THESE LOCATIONS

Better World Books

 To learn more about Carolyn Turgeon you can find her at http://carolynturgeon.com/

Leave a Reply

